Search
Search
Twitter
Facebook

Municipal Government

Mayor and CouncilCouncil Strategic PlanCouncil Meetings Council Agendas Council Minutes Annual ReportsBylaws & PoliciesMunicipal ElectionsNewsletters

Council Meetings


Regular Council Meeting Schedule:

District of Houston Regular Council Meetings are held at 7:00 PM in Council Chambers at the Municipal Office (3367 12th Street, Houston, BC) every 1st and 3rd Tuesday of the month, in accordance with the Council Procedures Bylaw.

CANCELLED - Tuesday, January 3, 2017 Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017 Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017 Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017 Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Tuesday, May 1, 2017 Tuesday, May 16, 2017
Tuesday, June 6, 2017 Tuesday, June 20, 2017
Tuesday, July 4, 2017 Tuesday, July 18, 2017
Tuesday, August 1, 2017 Tuesday, August 15, 2017
Tuesday, September 5, 2017 Tuesday, September 19, 2017
Tuesday, October 3, 2017 Tuesday, October 17, 2017
Tuesday, November 7, 2017 Tuesday, November 21, 2017
Tuesday, December 5, 2017 Tuesday, December 19, 2017

NOTE: The dates of the Regular Council Meetings are subject to change.

Members of the public are welcome to attend Regular Council meetings and Committee of the Whole meetings. However, a part of a council meeting may be closed to the public if the subject matter being considered relates to items falling under section 90 of the Community Charter.

Delegations and Petitions

"Delegation" is the term used to define the process whereby an individual or group appears before Council to make a presentation or provide information. If you wish to address the Mayor and Council at the Regular Council Meering you must make arrangements to appear as a delegation.

Persons wishing to address Council as a delegation should complete the Delegation to Council form and submit it to the Corporate Services Officer by e-mail or in-person at the Municipal Office (3367 - 12th Street, Houston).

Additionally, Council requires a brief report in advance of the meeting so they are prepared for the delegation. The briefing package must be received by Municipal Office no later than 4:30 pm on the Thursday prior to the Council Meeting date. Upon receipt of a request, the Corporate Services Officer will follow-up with a telephone call advising the delegate of the time and date the delegation is scheduled for.

From time to time, Council may also invite individuals and organizations to appear as delegations before Council.

Delegations are limited to a 15 minute presentation regardless of the number of people in the delegation.

Upon completion of the presentation, Council will ask questions if they feel clarification or additional information is needed.

The Mayor should be addressed as "Your Worship" or "Mayor "; the Councillors should be addressed as "Councillor ".

It is understandable that delegates may be nervous, but please remember that Council is very understanding and tries to set a comfortable and welcoming atmosphere for all. Council wants to hear from you on issues that are important to you.

Public Input Opportunity

Council wants to hear from Houston residents, organizations and businesses about an idea or event that will benefit the community as a whole. At the start of each Council Meeting, a maximum of fifteen (15) minutes will be available for members of the public to bring items to the attention of Council.

Please be aware that your time for speaking may be limited to 5 minutes or less in order to allow others present at the Council meeting to speak to Council.

Letters to Council

Letters to the District of Houston Council should be addressed to:

Mayor and Council
District of Houston
P.O. Box 370
Houston, B.C.
V0J 1Z0
Phone: (250) 845-2238
Fax Number: (250) 845-3429
E-Mail Address: doh@houston.ca
Copyright © 2017 District of Houston - All Rights Reserved
Site By Trinex Internet Solutions